Megan is a part-time marketing and operations guru for a start-up and a full time BOSS LADY. She’s lived in New York and knows her way around finding an exciting side hustle, which also helps her in come up numerous entrepreneurial ideas. She talks about her current side hustle in this interview.

 

  1. What is your side hustle (side job that you do outside of school)

“Currently I am the Marketing + Operations Intern at a fashion tech startup called Nineteenth Amendment (nineteenthamendment.com).

  1. How did you find it?

Over Christmas break I was looking for something to fill my time because I had just quit my job at school (Executive Assistant to the Vice President). I was browsing Angel List (basically linkedin for startups) and found Nineteenth Amendment. In high school I originally was planning on attending fashion school, so after spending the past 3.5 years in business school the idea of working for a fashion company naturally got me super excited.

  1. What made you qualified or how did you fake it till you made it?

Since I was in 3rd or 4th grade I knew I wanted to go into fashion design. I had been taking art classes since second grade and loved it. By the time middle school rolled around I was taking at least 3 art/design classes a year and by my senior year of high school I enrolled in several community college fashion design courses where I learned clothing construction and pattern making. Additionally, during my senior year of high school I worked as a lead designer for a paper boutique where I created digital proofs for wedding invitations on Adobe Illustrator. All of these experiences (in addition to my business education, and previous internship at a startup) have helped qualified me for this position.

  1. Can you tell a goofy incident or a funny characteristic about your job?

Since Nineteenth Amendment is a startup, it is an all hands on deck culture. During New York Fashion Week we were live streaming one of our designer’s show. We wanted to take this opportunity to record a lot of content so we packed an interview, photoshoot and shoppable runway all into one event. Before everything was set to go I was dubbed “creative director” and was put tasked with styling the set AND photographing the entire event. The best part – I had never *really* used a DSLR camera. After quite a bit of googleing the photos ended up turning out great, and they had me do the same for the upcoming Brooklyn Fashion Week. That, is what a day in the life of a startup looks like.

  1. What would you say to someone who would want to join you?

First, learn your way around Adobe. Second, become witty. The former I have a good handle on, the later has been a “opportunity for growth.” Nineteenth Amendment primarily looks for people who are able to write, show up, and be passionate about their mission: making fashion democratic.

  1. What’s another not well-known thing about you that you think you could turn into a side hustle? (the goofier the better)

“That is something that anyone outside of the House of QE1 will never know… 😉

I could be a professional Instagram portrait photographer. I have a lot of experience. I know how to capturing the right candid with the best lighting and composition and… I don’t require a photo credit. 🙂

Leave a comment